Discussion Closed This discussion was created more than 6 months ago and has been closed. To start a new discussion with a link back to this one, click here.

pH profile considering buffer effect

Patricia Anna Pappenreiter

Please login with a confirmed email address before reporting spam

Dear COMSOL users,

I am pretty new to COMSOL and I would like to simulate an electrochemical reaction where OH- ions are formed in the reaction and the whole reaction occurs in a buffer solution of pH 8.4.
The equilibrium reactions are:
1) B(OH)3 + H2O -> B(OH)4- (Sodium borate)
2) H2O -> OH- + H+
3) Ag2S + H2O --> 2Ag + OH- + SH-
I know that there exists a model of COMSOL that handles this problem. (model_crevice_corrosion_fe)
So I only changed the equilibrium reactions of this model to the appropriate reactions and didn't changed any values for the reactions (only to try out if this model is working).
The problem is, that the changing of the equilibrium reactions results in an error.
Is it possible that the reaction 3) is the reason for this problem?

Thank you for your answers,
Patricia

6 Replies Last Post 2015年7月28日 GMT-4 14:27

Posted: 9 years ago 2015年7月24日 GMT-4 11:36
Hi Patricia:

I have had trouble getting equilibrium reactions to converge in the past. When you say that you did not change the numbers but changed the equations, there are 4 equations in the original model and you have only 3, so probably the numbers did not match and there was no actual solution. Did you try the model with your equilibrium constants yet? Sometimes, it is the smallest of things like a sign somewhere which can make it hard to achieve equilibrium. Can you post your model, it is easier to diagnose it that way.

Regards,
Sri.