Note: This discussion is about an older version of the COMSOL Multiphysics® software. The information provided may be out of date.

Discussion Closed This discussion was created more than 6 months ago and has been closed. To start a new discussion with a link back to this one, click here.

Electric field doesn't change when changing the material parameters

Carmen Solanes Galbis

Please login with a confirmed email address before reporting spam

Hi,

I'm new in COMSOL (version 4.2). I'm trying to simulate the electric field in a cylinder that contains an electrode of 2 poles and an isolation material between them. I have used Electrostatics physics from AC/DC module. The boundary conditions I have used are:

- Zero charge: in all cylinder boundaries. (Because I want zero current in all external boundaries)
- Charge conservation: in all domains by defect.
- Initial values: 0V in all domains by defect.
- Terminal: for each pole (on positive (1V) and the other negative (-1V)).
- Ground: for isolation material.

The cylinder is an isotropic and homogeneous medium. And the parameter COMSOL ask me to introduce is the relative permittivity. To see the electric field I have used streamlines and, to measure the electric potential in a specific zone I have used a 3D line.

The problem I have is that it doesn't matter the value of the relative permittivity of the material I introduce because the electric field and the electric potential never change. In a first simulation the relative permittivity of the cylinder material was 1, and in a second simulation it was 1000.

Can anyone help me and telling me what I am doing wrong?

And I have a another question: is it possible to simulate the electric field but only taking into account the electrical conductivity? I know I can use electric currents physics to simulate the electric field too, but it also ask me to introduce the relative permittivity of the material, and I only know the electrical conductivity.

Thank you in advance,