Discussion Closed This discussion was created more than 6 months ago and has been closed. To start a new discussion with a link back to this one, click here.

Motion due to a magnetic field

Please login with a confirmed email address before reporting spam

Hello everyone,

I am pretty new to COMSOL so this might be a simple question to answer.

I want to 2D simulate the attraction between a magnet and an iron bead which are located in air (see attachment for the geometry). Stationary is not a problem. But when I want it to be time dependent, the bead stays at the same position. I have tried a lot of things just to get the bead in motion due to the magnetic field but without success.
So my question is, how do I get the bead in motion with the magnetic forces from the magnet?

Can I do this only with the Physics “Magnetic Fields (mf)” or do I need another physics like “Moving Mesh (ale)”?

Thank you very much!
Mike

12 Replies Last Post 2017年7月1日 GMT-4 13:21
Ivar KJELBERG COMSOL Multiphysics(r) fan, retired, former "Senior Expert" at CSEM SA (CH)

Posted: 1 decade ago 2012年11月5日 GMT-5 16:35
Hi

if you use 2D MF you solve for the magnetic vector potential A so you have no dimensional dependent variables in there, so no "motion", for that you would need "solid" or some other physics including u the displacement vector. Then as MF needs also the air all around, indeed an ALE first to couple the geometry of the falling part and the air deformation would be required.

It's not alsways that simple to couple some "simple" physics model

--
Good luck
Ivar