Discussion Closed This discussion was created more than 6 months ago and has been closed. To start a new discussion with a link back to this one, click here.

Meshing and solving for very small elements

Please login with a confirmed email address before reporting spam

Hello,

I am very new to COMSOL and my goal is to be able to simulate a very small capacitor in 3D using specific materials. I have had a lot of trouble doing that so right now I am trying to create a 2D simulation of a very small capacitor as practice. The dimensions of each plate in meters is roughly 1.2e-4 by 1e-7, and there is a 1e-6 gap between these plates. When I mesh my design I get a very odd looking mesh, and then when I solve the problem it does not give the right result. Is there something wrong with making such a small device? Seeing as the test area is not very large I assumed I would be able to simulate a small region, because compared to it's environment the capacitor itself is not very small, and so it won't result in a singular matrix.
I appreciate any help you might have.

Thank you,

Michael Purdy

3 Replies Last Post 2010年11月23日 GMT-5 05:25
Ivar KJELBERG COMSOL Multiphysics(r) fan, retired, former "Senior Expert" at CSEM SA (CH)

Posted: 1 decade ago 2010年11月22日 GMT-5 15:55
Hi

nothing wrong with small items,
but you must also check the graphical and physical resolutions in use, these are set/located differently for 3.5 and 4.
Typically the graphical resolution is some 1e-5 or 10 um, you must turn it down to 1nm or 1e-9, or 1E-8 I would say for your case, that should help.

--
Good luck
Ivar
Hi nothing wrong with small items, but you must also check the graphical and physical resolutions in use, these are set/located differently for 3.5 and 4. Typically the graphical resolution is some 1e-5 or 10 um, you must turn it down to 1nm or 1e-9, or 1E-8 I would say for your case, that should help. -- Good luck Ivar

Posted: 1 decade ago 2010年11月22日 GMT-5 17:08
Hi Ivar,