Discussion Closed This discussion was created more than 6 months ago and has been closed. To start a new discussion with a link back to this one, click here.

Electromagnetic waves not propagating through perfect electric conductor and problems with ports

Please login with a confirmed email address before reporting spam

Hey,

just a heads up that I'm pretty new to Comsol so the problem I'm experiencing might be quite trivial.

I'm currently trying to model a simple resonator to check how simulated results match up against experimental results and to use this simulation as a basis for other such models.

I'm currently having problems with ports and PEC's. It seems that no matter the changes I make to my setup, waves do not seem to propagate from port 1 to 2 (even though both are connected through a PEC) and the S21 parameter is thus in the -800dB's. This problem seems to appear with both regular ports and lumped ports and when looking at the electric field it seems to not propagate anywhere.

I would also like advice as to the type ports I should be using for models with these types of geometries and what to take note of when using such ports. Currently the main problem I have with using these types of models is that waves do not seem to propagate along conductors to other ports (thus S21 parameters are in the -70dB's for example) and I do not know why.

I would be happy to hear about any solutions that could shed light on this problem.

7 Replies Last Post 2023年7月28日 GMT-4 15:59
Edgar J. Kaiser Certified Consultant

Posted: 9 months ago 2023年7月25日 GMT-4 07:17

Nico,

there are several issues.

1. Your geometry is kilometers big. You may have chosen the wrong geometry unit.

2. The port must connect the stripline and ground unless I misunderstand your design.

There is a microstripline example in the application library you can use as a guide for a proper setup.

Cheers Edgar

-------------------
Edgar J. Kaiser
emPhys Physical Technology
www.emphys.com