Note: This discussion is about an older version of the COMSOL Multiphysics® software. The information provided may be out of date.

Discussion Closed This discussion was created more than 6 months ago and has been closed. To start a new discussion with a link back to this one, click here.

Contact pairs in 3D model ?

Please login with a confirmed email address before reporting spam

Hi ,

Im a beginner and i am using v4.0a. I was trying to carry out a stress analysis on a simple model. the model has a layer of steel on top, a layer of viton( elastomer) and the lower layer is an fixed base plate. how ever i donot want the model to be a union. so it seems i have to introduce the contact pair feature at the interface between layer1 and 2 and also between layers 2 and 3. i am how ever unable to do this. but the model works when the geometry forms a union. I am attaching the model.can any one help me.

Thanks in advance.

Kachuz1

5 Replies Last Post 2011年10月21日 GMT-4 02:47
Nagi Elabbasi Facebook Reality Labs

Posted: 1 decade ago 2011年10月20日 GMT-4 14:16
You don’t necessary need contact pairs. If you put a continuity pair you should recover the same solution you get with the union operator. There are also other pair settings so it all depends on what you want to model.

Nagi Elabbasi
Veryst Engineering
You don’t necessary need contact pairs. If you put a continuity pair you should recover the same solution you get with the union operator. There are also other pair settings so it all depends on what you want to model. Nagi Elabbasi Veryst Engineering

Posted: 1 decade ago 2011年10月20日 GMT-4 15:53

You don’t necessary need contact pairs. If you put a continuity pair you should recover the same solution you get with the union operator. There are also other pair settings so it all depends on what you want to model.

Nagi Elabbasi
Veryst Engineering